Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 10
Edward Belvin Collection of Williamsburg and James City County materials
Collection
Identifier: SC 01197
Scope and Contents
Edward Belvin's Collection of Williamsburg and James City County, Virginia material. Includes copies of wills and death certificates, correspondence and certificates.
Dates:
1908-1987
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 B85
Scope and Contents
Chiefly business correspondence and receipts, 1890-1920, of members of the Bucktrout and Braithwaite families of Williamsburg, Va. Among the correspondents are Hypolite Repiton, R. W. Bucktrout, D. Braithwaite, Richard M. Bucktrout and James Braithwaite. Descriptions of selected accessions: Acc. 1995.25: Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers including copy of "Family Sites and the Restoration of Williamsburg" and an account of Christmas wedding of Delia Bucktrout to William...
Dates:
1780-1996; Majority of material found in 1890-1899
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents
This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...
Dates:
1784-1934; Majority of material found in 1830-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Fay Parr Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.50
Scope and Contents
The collection contains papers documenting the lives of the Fay Parr family. The collection also includes Williamsburg ephemera and memorabilia. Other materials contained in the collection includes family photograph albums, press photographs of Williamsburg residents as well as buildings, newspaper clippings of events in Williamsburg, Virginia as well as publications from Williamsburg and other places.
Dates:
1920-2002
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Galt Papers (III)
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 78 G73
Scope and Contents
The collection covers the dates 1750-1982 and consists chiefly of the personal and business correspondence, financial and legal documents, literary documents, and family history and genealogy notes of the Galt family. The collection also contains clippings, photographs, and personal mementos such as artifacts. Negatives have been added to Galt III, Group XI, Box IV, folder 44. Some material pertaining to William R. Galt is filed in 78 G73 Galt Family Papers III,...
Dates:
1750-1991
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
J. Kenneth Graham Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1989.25
Scope and Contents
Collection of items relating to Williamsburg, Virginia and the personal papers of J. Kenneth Graham, particularly genealogy of his ancestor, James Graham of Pennsylvania.
Dates:
1934-1986; Majority of material found in 1975-1985
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hall Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates:
1810-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Kibler-Bland Genealogy Collection
Collection
Identifier: SC 01243
Scope and Contents
Typescripts of material concerning Richard Bland, (1710-1776), of Williamsburg, Virginia composed mainly of biographical and genealogical information on Bland and his family and information about the Bland House in Williamsburg, Virginia. Also included, biographical material on Henry Wetherburn in connection with running his tavern in Williamsburg. This material concerns the dates of 1671-1776 although the typescripts are not from that era. The typescripts of the articles and notes on the...
Dates:
1950
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard Lee Morton Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents
Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...
Dates:
1756-2006; Majority of material found in 1930-1969
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas E. Pugh Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00005
Scope and Contents
The papers of Rev. Thomas E. Pugh, who was the minister of the Williamsburg Baptist Church in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1952-1981. Collection includes both personal and ministerial related material. Early photograph albums show Pugh's childhood but his correspondence and papers begin with his student days at the University of Richmond in 1940. He attended Crozer Theological Seminary and Harvard University Chaplain School before becoming an Army Chaplain in 1944. His first...
Dates:
1914-2001; Majority of material found in 1941-1998
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center